Kahli’s Journey to become a WA Police Officer

In 2015 Kahli King Elliott was the winner of the WA Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year award. As one of the few young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cadets in the WA Police, Kahli’s dedication, passion and vigilance have set her up for a long and successful career.

“Ever since I was in high school, I have wanted to join the ‘forces’. I started my career with the WA Police by doing a two year Police Cadet Traineeship, where I also completed a Certificate III in Business. Then in February 2016 I started at the WA Police Academy as a recruit.”

“Studying business has provided me with valuable skills that have definitely helped me through my training at the Police Academy and also will assist when working at the Police Stations.”

1602 DTWD7 037 smaller

Kahli hopes the skills she’s gained through the Certificate III in Business will open up more opportunities for her within WA Police as she progresses through the ranks in her career.

Kahli grew up in Kununurra in the Kimberly region of Western Australia where much of her family still resides. It was there that she participated in The Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation’s Follow the Dream program as a teenager, setting the wheels in motion for Kahli to take on further training to pursue her goals.

“The Follow the Dream program provided me with special one on one tutoring with teachers after school, which helped me a great deal with achieving in school. The camps that I attended helped me better my team work skills and confidence when speaking in front of people. This program, in many ways, helped me become a better role model for younger Aboriginal people.”

“I think it is important for everyone, especially Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to undertake a training course because it opens up so many opportunities within the workforce.”

Kahli (2) smaller

Kahli’s advice to others considering taking on a training course or following their dream career path is not to let other people hold you back from doing something you want to do.

“It is your choice what career you want to pursue, so don’t let anything or anyone stop you from achieving it.”

As an ambassador for the WA training sector and WA Police, Kahli is a strong advocate for increasing the number of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the WA Police force and the workforce in general. Over the past two years Kahli has worked with the WA Police schools programs to encourage young people to move into a career they love. Kahli is due to graduate from the WA Police Academy in August 2016 and we look forward to following her career.

Leave a Reply

