All paths lead to success

WA and Australian Apprentice of the Year Jared Stone, knows all too well the pressure high school students often feel to choose their future career paths. For Jared, it never seemed like a straightforward plan, but his story is proof that all paths can and do lead to successful futures.

2015ATA_Awards_Inds_Presentation_00085.jpg

“I had no idea where I wanted to be, by the time I was 16 I’d attended three high-schools, changed my mind about doing TEE (Old school terminology) at least three times, then dropped out after the first term of year 11.

After dropping out I headed to Central TAFE’s Leederville campus to study music business, music performance, and technical production. Back then I thought I was going to be a famous drummer in a band touring the world, but that didn’t really sit well with me, and I ended up figuring out that wouldn’t be my life.

During my technical production training, we were introduced to a huge analogue mixing desk, with what seemed like 600 knobs, buttons, dials, and fiddly bits to run sound through.

It seemed so complicated and amazing, that’s when the penny dropped for me that electrical theory was actually pretty interesting.”

Jared eventually went on to complete a Certificate II Pre-Apprenticeship in Electrotechnology – a course he excelled in. It was during one of his lectures that Western Power presented their apprenticeship program and Jared decided he wanted to be an industrial electrician.

“A few months after I finished my Pre-Apprenticeship I applied for an apprenticeship with Western Power and was awarded 1 of 13 training contracts for the year from a pool of around 750 applicants.

Jared_nologo.jpg

Since then I’ve been hooked on learning as much as possible, whenever possible. I finished my Apprenticeship some eight months ahead of my posted sign-off date, marking a really important step in my career heading into the future.”

Now a fully qualified electrician, Jared’s training has not only helped him to develop on the job skills and knowledge but also personal skills like communication and relationship building. He has developed a passion for his work and the energy industry, with a special interest in renewable energy solutions.

“My personal vision for being a part of a ‘green’ future is to help bring about 100% generation and utilization of renewable energy, worldwide, in my lifetime.”

It was this passion, enthusiasm and knowledge that saw him win the WA Apprentice of the Year award and go on to win the Australian Apprentice of the Year in 2015.

“The week I spent in Hobart has gone down in history as one of the best weeks of my life. I met so many amazing, inspirational people over the week and had an absolute blast. The feeling of winning the national award was just so overwhelming, it took about a month for it to actually sink in, and is still hard to believe that this is a reality, I’ve been so honoured and humbled to be able to represent the VET sector and my peers.”

2015ATA_WinnersRunnersUp_00008.jpg

Over the past six months Jared has been an exceptional ambassador for the training sector speaking at awards ceremonies and VET coordinator’s meetings with many more events on the horizon this year.

“My goal is to inspire, and motivate a change in perspective for as many people as possible. I’m also keen to be part of the conversation about where the VET sector and education in general is heading for Australia.”

The winner of this year’s WA Apprentice of the Year will receive $5000 from Energy Apprenticeships Group to further your training or kick start your career and you’ll go on to represent WA at the Australian Training Awards where you could receive recognition as the best apprentice in the country!  If you think you’ve got what it takes to be the next WA Apprentice of the Year ambassador, apply today!

 

Leave a Reply

